Opening book

Opening book about..........

A digital collection of artists books, conceived in order to offer a visibiity platform for visual arts artists, opening book was born from the vision of a passionate art lover and a professional artist in 2015. Followed in 2016 by opening book photo, it allows both amateur and professional art lovers to discover and explore both emerging and established artists.

In each book, twelve works of art can be explored in a refined page layout constructed around the works and their details, with fluid navigation between the pages and a powerful zoom for in depth examination. Opening thereby offers artists essential tools for building and consolidating their reputation : professional quality photographic reproductions and membership of a wide diffusion network.

Why donate?

To help us and supporting the artists

You will be able to consult a digital art library and you wil be participating in the running of the association, along side our indispensible public partners (at this time, the regional Provence Alps Côte d'Azure council and the departement council Bouches-du-Rhône). Donations are tax-deductible, as our association complies with the General Interest criteria.

Call for applications Artists wishing to integrate the collection are invited to present a coherent selection of twelve works, accompanied by a short text explaining the pertinence of their selection. The definitive selection will be made in collaboration with Opening. Propositions should be addressed to “contact@opening-book.com” with, in the object section of the email, the precision “candidature opening book”.

Requested elements : twelve images + explanatory note + C.V ( potentially links to internet sites or blogs or documentation about projects already realised.) Formats pdf jpg doc odt (word or open office) for more information contact us.

Selection criteria : the quality and seriousness of the artistic work / justification of a professional career history and a certain number of works of art/ the pertinence of the proposed works of art.

Terms and conditions. Selected artists must become members of the association Opening at the artists price of 50 Euros. If necessary Opening will take charge of the digitalisation (photography or scanning) of the works chosen for publication.


Who we are?

Caroline CIRENDINI

A qualified art historian, a cultural mediater for the past 14 years, she has co-ordinated numerous publishing projects and art commissions with the Bureau des compétences et désirs (Action Nouveaux commanditaires de la Fondation de France), and before that with centre d'art contemporain du Crestet (co-édition avec Actes Sud).

Isabelle SCHNEIDER

An artist, she workes concurrently as a painter and videographer. She is part of the Experimental video festival, Images Contre Nature in Marseilles. She regulary collaborates with experimental theatre companies.(Germany, Greece, France.)

Opening recieves funding from the Regional Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur and the Bouches-du-Rhône councils.

Opening website is developped by Guilhem Claverie. Contact : guilhem-claverie[at]orange.fr

à propos

Collection numérique de books d’artistes conçue pour offrir une visibilité aux artistes plasticiens, opening book est née en 2015 de la volonté d’une passionnée d’art et d’une artiste. Suivie en 2016 par opening book photo, elle permet à un public d’amateurs et de professionnels de l’art de découvrir des artistes émergents ou déjà reconnus.

Dans chaque book, douze oeuvres sont à découvrir dans une mise en page épurée construite autour de l’oeuvre et du détail, avec une navigation fluide entre les pages et un zoom puissant pour observer des détails. Opening offre ainsi aux artistes des atouts essentiels pour construire ou consolider leur cote : des reproductions photographiques de qualité professionnelle et l’inscription dans un large réseau de diffusion.

Pourquoi adhérer ? Des extraits sont consultables gratuitement sur le site opening-book.com. Les versions intégrales sont réservées aux adhérents.Pourquoi ? Parce que construire cette collection avec des moyens professionnels et défendre les artistes a un prix, le prix de notre travail et celui de nos prestataires.

L’adhésion annuelle coûte 30 €. C’est beaucoup et c’est peu. Avec cette somme vous découvrez jusqu’à 12 nouveaux artistes par an, vous vous constituez une bibliothèque numérique d’art et vous participez au fonctionnement de l’association, aux côtés des indispensables partenaires publics (actuellement, la Région Paca et le Département des Bouches-du-Rhône). Vous pouvez aussi faire un don. Dons et cotisations sont déductibles fiscalement car l’association répond aux critères de l’intérêt général.

Appel à candidature Les artistes souhaitant intégrer la collection sont invités à proposer une sélection cohérente de douze oeuvres, accompagnée d’une courte note expliquant la pertinence de cette sélection. La sélection définitive des oeuvres sera faite avec Opening. Les candidatures doivent être adressées à contact@opening-book.com en précisant dans l’objet du mail «candidature opening book».

Eléments demandés : douze images + note explicative + CV (éventuellement, lien vers un site internet, blog ou documentation de projets réalisés). Formats : .pdf, .jpg, .doc, .odt (word ou open office). Plus d'infos : nous contacter.

Critères de sélection : qualité et sérieux du travail artistique / justifier d’un parcours professionnel et d’un certain nombre de travaux / pertinence du choix d’oeuvres proposées.

Modalités Les artistes sélectionnés doivent adhérer à l’association Opening au tarif artiste de 50€. Si nécessaire, Opening prend en charge la numérisation (photographie ou scan) des œuvres choisies pour la publication.


Qui sommes-nous ?

Caroline CIRENDINI

Historienne de l’art de formation, médiatrice culturelle pendant 14 ans, elle a coordonné de nombreux projets d'édition et de commandes artistiques avec le Bureau des compétences et désirs (Action Nouveaux commanditaires de la Fondation de France), et auparavant avec le centre d'art contemporain du Crestet (co-édition avec Actes Sud).

Isabelle SCHNEIDER

Artiste, elle mène en parallèle des travaux en peinture et en vidéo. Elle participe à la programmation du festival de vidéo expérimentale Images Contre Nature à Marseille. Elle collabore régulièrement avec des compagnies de théâtre expérimental (Allemagne, Grèce, France.)

Opening reçoit le soutien de la Région Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur et du Conseil départemental des Bouches-du-Rhône.